Laura Veirs




Regular price
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Laura VeirsSaltbreakers was released by Nonesuch Records on April 10, 2007. On her third Nonesuch release, Veirs remains fascinated by the natural world, filling her work with images of the ocean and the stars. But she digs even deeper this time, incorporating the turbulence of her own life and the larger world into this collection of songs.



1.  Pink Light
2.  Ocean Night Song
3.  Don't Lose Yourself
4.  Drink Deep
5.  Wandering Kind
6.  Nightingale
7.  Saltbreakers
8.  To the Country
9.  Cast a Hook in Me
10.  Phantom Mountain
11.  Black Butterfly
12.  Wrecking


The continuing collaboration with producer Tucker Martine (The Decemberists) allows for experimentation and inventiveness, which, according to Pitchfork, showcases Veirs’ “indulgence in flights of verbal fancy.” An example of this is the track “To The Country,” which was recorded in the Nashville cabin of Johnny Cash and June Carter and which features an eight-person Baptist choir. Veirs describes the experience as “transcendent.”

On Saltbreakers, Veirs is accompanied by her longtime studio and touring band, originally called the Tortured Souls, who now bear the same name as the album. Over the last three years, the band has traveled the world touring in support of Veirs’ previous Nonesuch albums Carbon Glacier and Year of Meteors. “The band has gotten really close,” says Veirs. “We’ve become a family.” The group includes Veirs on vocals and guitar, Karl Blau on bass, Steve Moore on piano, and Tucker Martine on drums. The title track of Saltbreakers also marks the debut of her fellow players as backing vocalists. Most of the album was recorded in Seattle.